A Matter of Horse

All things Equine, all over the world.

Facebook Pinterest Twitter

exercises for helping direction, ridden

exercises for helping direction, ridden

Postby Tess and Organza » Mon Jan 11, 2016 7:19 pm

A friend has a few issues with her young cob schooling. He defends himself when she tries to direct him, particularly to the right. He pulls away in the opposite direction. I'm no expert but hopped on to try to feel what was going on. I hardly touched my reins, and used my body weight and legs gently, he pulls away, its quite marked. Any suggestions, experts!?
Tess and Organza

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: exercises for helping direction, ridden

Postby JennieF » Mon Jan 11, 2016 7:32 pm

possible back/saddle issue .....
ImageImageImageImage
JennieF

Postby Chevalblanc » Mon Jan 11, 2016 7:51 pm

Very difficult to know without seeing him, is it the little bay cob we saw last summer? I remember him being fairly light and responsive in hand :?
Helen

ImageImageImageImageImage
Chevalblanc

Postby Tess and Organza » Mon Jan 11, 2016 9:52 pm

IT had crossed my mind Jennie, shall I try bareback? Yes Helen, but has since been thru a certain person who will not allow him in weekly classes at club without a bit, he had never had a bit before, and who also got on and sorted him out in lesson, resulting in rearing and bucking and said person complaining that the saddle was too small (for him not horse) maybe he hurt his back?
Tess and Organza

Postby Chevalblanc » Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:08 am

Oh, that explains a lot :evil: Poor pony, it's probably defensive then, an attempt to get away from what he thinks is coming :sad: why couldn't they send him to someone who knows what they're doing? :banghead:
Helen

ImageImageImageImageImage
Chevalblanc

Postby Trudi » Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:02 pm

Tess do you mean he tries to avoid turning to the right?
Trudi

Postby Tess and Organza » Tue Jan 12, 2016 3:17 pm