A Matter of Horse

All things Equine, all over the world.

Facebook Pinterest Twitter

Vet or No Vet?

Vet or No Vet?

Postby spottygiraffe » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:46 pm

Further to a few interesting points being made on the colic thread I thought it might be good to discuss when you should call the vet out and when it's best (if ever) to let nature take its course.

I am a vet-dodger on the whole and I usually just keep an eye on the horse in question and see how it pans out. I had a horse with suspected colic once when I was in the UK and I called the vet straight away because it was pretty obvious that he needed attention, although it turned out that he had tied up and it wasn't colic at all. The only other time I've felt the need to call out the vet was when Kinna and Squaw had their allergy and again it was really obvious that intervention was needed. I guess what is more interesting is the times when I haven't called the vet when perhaps some people would have done...

Mav escaped one night and he found his way into the grain store and ate a half a bin of unsoaked sugarbeet. He seemed completely normal so I just kept an eye on him and nothing ever happened.
Mav again with his laminitis -rather than the vet I get the trimmer out, give him home treatments and just let it run its course, which is usually about 5-7 days of him lying down a lot and then suddenly looking perky again. It does niggle at me that I could get him some pain relief, but I'm not a huge fan of that either unless it's absolutely necessary. I don't mind if anyone disagrees with me for this, as I say I am on the fence about it anyway.
Isba had a very swollen leg and was lame once but I just did the French thing and hosed it and used mud wraps and it went away.

I guess I've been lucky not to have too many incidents, but if horses have a natural life they seem much less likely to need the vet.
Sarah x

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
spottygiraffe

Share On: