A Matter of Horse

All things Equine, all over the world.

Facebook Pinterest Twitter

Ready to start Dut working

Ready to start Dut working

Postby FlorayG » Thu May 26, 2016 2:16 pm

Back from my holiday and ready to go. Dut has had 6 weeks to settle and be a normal horse and make her friends in the field so now I want to start with her but TBH I've never done this before - all my previous horses came to me as practically babies and so were very different. Dut already has it in her head that humans are great in the field for scratches and stuff but once you are caught then you just have to do what you are told until it's time for feed and turn out again. She's not nasty about any of this just a bit...resigned.

So suggestions to re-start her please. I want to engage her enthuisiasm for being with me and doing stuff. She is already broken to ride but I want to forget that. I want the first time I get on her to be something she will be proud of.
FlorayG

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Ready to start Dut working

Postby Trudi » Fri May 27, 2016 7:32 am

Helen is great with babies and does lots of walking out with them etc

I would think of starting the more 'school' based stuff with some free shaping at liberty so that she gets the idea that work is about thinking through things for herself rather than always being fully 'directed'. It will also help you work out how she learns best.
Trudi

Postby JennieF » Fri May 27, 2016 12:29 pm

What about taking her out 'ride and lead' with your other horse ... so she can see the surroundings without constant 'guidance' - its a great way of teaching youngsters to think about where they are putting their feet and might get her more interested ...
ImageImageImageImage
JennieF

Postby Chevalblanc » Fri May 27, 2016 2:40 pm